A life without philosophy

cropped-philosophy_by_dakine_kane-211.jpgWhat would a life without philosophy be like? Perhaps, at a glance, normal. But a further look would reveal that a life without philosophy is that of an animal. Philosophy is inevitable in human life. We all have our ways of acting, our ways of dealing with problems, our views on the world, existence, God. We all have opinions. How we live our life, that is what philosophy is all about. Not only how we live our lives, but why, also. We all have our own philosophy, each one’s different, greatly or slightly, to the next. Even though some philosophies may be better than others, more sensible, reasonable, and well-thought out, we all have one. But the question which has been asked for many thousands of years now is: what is the best philosophy? Perhaps there isn’t one. Perhaps there is. The point here, though, is that a life without philosophy is not possible. That is the magnitude of its importance.

4 thoughts on “A life without philosophy”

  1. I think the best philosophy is always our own, but there comes a problem with that because, while we filter and view everything through our philosophical lens, we constantly invade, unaware, the philosophical climate with our ethical evaluations of other philosophies, thus thinking that our philosophy is better, or more good, than other philosophies out there. This may be viewed as a problem but also as a result of our natural self-centeredness, something that we may not be able to escape, unless we find an ethics-free and objective method of philosophical evaluation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Does there not come a time when we realise that there are better philosophies out there? Indeed there does seem to be an inclination to assume that our own views are the best, but nevertheless there are times of recognition when another line of thought seems greater than our own. Moreover, will we ever be able to find a genuinely objective method of philosophical evaluation given our inescapable subjective nature?

      Like

      1. Matthew, I understand where you are coming from with your thinking. Before I developed my own philosophy, and even while I was doing it, I was greatly inspired by the philosophy of Michael Kosok. I still think his philosophy is more fundamental and scientific than mine, and I’ve already passed the point when I think that my philosophy is the best. I am in the position of my philosophical development, which is, thankfully, allowed to me, that I indeed think that I’ve outgrown my own philosophy and want to become more accepting of others’ philosophies.

        Every time I find a philosophy I dislike or even hate I start studying it intensely, and then I actually find that it is not as bad or evil as I first thought it to be. You see, in time, when we learn enough, some of us understand more than ourselves with our own philosophy, and so we become less limited in our views and evaluations of other philosophies.

        So, yes, to answer on both of your questions, there is indeed a time when we think other philosophies are greater than our own and a time when we think other philosophies are worse, but we also can overcome such divisiveness and think not in terms of who is better or worse but in other terms, such as what kind of philosophies are out there. If we learn to compare philosophies not by their merits but by their true differences, I think we indeed can be more objective in our evaluations of philosophies. However, this so-called ‘science of philosophy’ is not for everyone, just as normal science is not for everyone. Some of us can be objective about understanding other philosophies, while others cannot develop to this point, which doesn’t mean they are worse, but simply that they are not up to the task.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

